MAIN POINTS OF THIS TOUR
Cathedral of Lisbon – The Cathedral of Lisbon was not always known by this name being in other times dubbed Church of Santa Maria Maior. Its construction was the responsibility of D. Afonso Henriques and its beginning dates back to the year 1150, after three years of the conquest of the city to the Moors.
Aljube Museum – The Aljube building (from the Arabic “al-jubb” – well without water, cistern, dungeon or prison) goes back to the Roman and Islamic period, almost always being a prison: ecclesiastical jail, women prison and political prison from 1928 to 1965.
Church of St. Anthony – This church stands on the spot where St. Anthony was born, before he left to the world as a preacher, eventually dying in Padua. The present temple was built in 1767 in the place where there was a chapel from the XV century.
Viewpoint Santa Luzia – The Mirador de Santa Luzia has a wide view over Alfama and the Tagus River. The characteristic points, from left to right, are the dome of Santa Engrácia, the Church of Santo Estêvão and the two white towers of the Church of São Miguel.
Viewpoint Portas do Sol – In the historical quarter of Alfama, derives its name from the old Porta do Sol, integrated in the Moorish fence of Lisbon that existed in this place, ruined in the earthquake of 1755.
Mural of Amália Rodrigues – The artist Alexandre Farto, who signs as Vhils, created the face of Amália Rodrigues in Portuguese sidewalk, in collaboration with the pavers of the Lisbon City Council (CML). The work, entitled “Calçada”, is a tribute to the greatest Portuguese fadista of the history and was born of an idea of the director Ruben Alves.
Church of Santo Estevão – It goes back to a primitive temple, erected in the XII century, in Romanesque style.It was rebuilt in 1733 in Baroque style, with a north-south orientation that gave it greater urban impact. It suffered extensive damages during the earthquake of 1755, having been repaired and reopened to the cult in 1773.
Street Art – Admire several mural paintings, from various artists, always with themes alluding to the typical neighborhood of Alfama, its values and way of life.
Fado Museum – Fully dedicated to the universe of Lisbon’s urban song, the Fado Museum opened its doors to the public on September 25, 1998, celebrating the exceptional value of Fado as an identifiable symbol of the City of Lisbon.
Chafariz de Dentro – It is probably the oldest fountain in Lisbon. It was called the Fountain of Horses. Fernão Lopes reports that his bronze spouts were horse heads, which were stolen by Castilian troops. It happened to be designated Chafariz de Dentro by being located intramuros of the fernandina wall.
Chafariz D’El Rei – It is believed that the origin of the Chafariz d’El-Rei dates back to Muslim times. It is certainly one of the oldest fountains in the city. His physiognomy was altered over the centuries as a result of his various works. In the reign of D. Afonso II is called Fountain of St. John of the Square of the Canos and is from the reign of D. Dinis that happens to be designated by Chafariz D’El-Rei.
Casa dos Bicos / José Saramago Foundation – Casa dos Bicos was built between 1521 and 1523, by order of Brás Albuquerque, son of the second Vice-King of India and second project attributed to Francisco de Arruda. Following the earthquake of 1755, it suffered profound destruction.