Graça Tour

The genesis of the neighborhood of Graça is related to the foundation of the convent of the Augustinians, which took place in the thirteenth century under the name of St. Augustine. In 1305 this became the Convent of Our Lady of Grace, which later gave the name to the neighborhood itself.

At the beginning Graça was located outside the walls of Lisbon (outside the Moorish fence) and only with the construction of the fernandina wall, in 1371, it is now contained in the domains of the city. You can still see the vestiges of the towers of the walls inside the convent.

MAIN POINTS OF THIS TOUR

Nossa Senhora do Monte Point of View – The Mirador do Senhora do Monte, located in the neighborhood of Graça, offers a unique panoramic view, undoubtedly one of the most beautiful views of Lisbon, especially since it is one of the highest points in the city.
Viewpoint Sophia de Mello Breyner – Miradouro where you can see the Castle of São Jorge, Mouraria, Martim Moniz, Baixa Pombalina, Carmo Convent, Monsanto, among many other Lisbon gems, without forgetting, of course, the Tagus River.

São Vicente de Fora Church – Established by D. Afonso Henriques in 1147, following the monarch’s vow if he succeeded in conquering Lisbon, the monastery dedicated to the martyr and delivered to the Canons of St. Augustine, symbolized in its essence the Christian refoundation of the city, becoming progressively a of the most important conventual houses in Lisbon.

National Pantheon – The National Pantheon, welcoming the tombs of great figures of Portuguese history, occupies the building originally intended for the church of Santa Engrácia. Founded in the second half of the 16th century, the building was completely rebuilt in the late sixteenth century by the architect João Antunes

Flea Market – It starts early in the morning and ends in the afternoon, in the ample space of Campo de Santa Clara, where hundreds of sellers and buyers negotiate. Here everything is on sale: utilities, clothes, books, collectibles, antiques and many other new and used items.

Military Museum – The Military Museum of Lisbon possesses a vast and valuable museum heritage. It began to be organized in 1842, in the “Royal Army Arsenal” by the Baron of Monte Pedral, for the purpose of storing and preserving warlike material.

Fado Museum – Fully dedicated to the universe of Lisbon’s urban song, the Fado Museum opened its doors to the public on September 25, 1998, celebrating the exceptional value of Fado as an identifiable symbol of the City of Lisbon.

Chafariz de Dentro – It is probably the oldest fountain in Lisbon. It was called the Fountain of Horses. Fernão Lopes reports that his bronze spouts were horse heads, which were stolen by Castilian troops. It happened to be designated Chafariz de Dentro by being located intramuros of the fernandina wall.
Chafariz D’El Rei – It is believed that the origin of the Chafariz d’El-Rei dates back to Muslim times. It is certainly one of the oldest fountains in the city. His physiognomy was altered over the centuries as a result of his various works. In the reign of D. Afonso II is called Fountain of St. John of the Square of the Canos and is from the reign of D. Dinis that happens to be designated by Chafariz D’El-Rei.