Train-Walking Cascais Tour
Cascais was once an elegant summer retreat of the Portuguese monarchy during the 19th century and a haven for European royalty during World War II thanks to the neutral status of the country. Over time, this peculiar atmosphere has changed and the city has become a refined culture center with a vibrant nightlife and an enviable quality of life. However, the splendor and icons of its maritime apogee were maintained until today, through the elegant lighthouses, fortresses and the Citadel of the seventeenth century.
MAIN POINTS OF THIS TOUR
Cais do Sodré Railway Station – Order of the Estoril Society, at the date of the exploitation of the railway line, the Cais do Sodré station, designed by Porfírio Pardal Monteiro in the early 1920s, presents programmatic values that distinguish it from the typology typical of the 19th century.
Cascais Railway Station– The Cascais Railway Station, originally known as Cascaes, is the terminal station of the Cascais Line, which serves the town of Cascais, in the District of Lisbon, in Portugal. It was inaugurated on September 30, 1889.
Rua Direita de Cascais– Now it’s Rua Frederico Arouca. It is easy to identify it, it is the busiest pedestrian street of Cascais. Before there were malls when we wanted to go shopping this street was the “shopping center” we visited. And in the summer, we go to eat an ice cream at the famous Santini.
Gelataria Santini For more than sixty years, at the Tamariz and perhaps without having at the time the notion of the size of his gesture, Attilio Santini opened doors of what is, without a doubt, the best known Portuguese gelataria.
Fortaleza de Nossa Senhora da Luz (Citadel of Cascais)– The Citadel and the Fortress of Nossa Senhora da Luz, located inside, are part of the military fortresses built between the XV and XVII centuries to defend the coast and the Tagus entrance. In 1488, D. João II had the fortified tower built at the tip of the Salmodo, due to frequent outbreaks of English, French and Moorish piracy and the need to make the Lisbon defense more effective.
Museum of the Counts of Castro Guimarães Located inside the Marechal Carmona Park, the Condes de Castro Guimarães Museum is the oldest museum space in the county. Inaugurated in 1931, it was directed by figures of great prestige in the Portuguese cultural milieu, such as João Couto, Carlos Bonvalot, Branquinho da Fonseca and Maria Alice Beaumont. In 1932, Fernando Pessoa applied for the position of conservative, but was not admitted for lack of qualifications.
Square 5 of OctoberThis square is of the most central points of the town of Cascais and also one of which the passage of time only helped the renovation of its façades and little else, everything else is the same. The Municipality of Cascais continues to operate there, installed in the old palace of the Counts of Guarda.
Palace of the Counts of Guarda (Cascais Town Hall) – One of the most representative buildings in Cascais and a unique case of civil architecture in Portugal in which religious tiles were applied to facades. It was built at the end of the 18th century, later renamed Palácio das Condes da Guarda, because it belonged to this family in the 19th century and it was used for other functions until, in 1940, the Paços do Concelho was installed there.