Train-Walking Sintra Tour
It’s where the Celts worshiped the moon, the Moors built their “great wall,” and royalty erected their dream palaces. The fountains and waterfalls further adding to the mystical atmosphere whose spell no one is able to resist.
MAIN POINTS OF THIS TOUR
The Rossio Railway Station In a neo-Manueline style the Rossio Railway Station has a main façade with its 8 doors and 18 windows, the architectural set of the station entrance is embellished by the beautifully decorated clock that is placed at the top center of the building as if crowning this perfect combination of elements that can still fit the revivalist line of late Portuguese romanticism.
Sintra Railway Station – – 140 years ago, the first train arrived in Sintra. In 1873 the Larmanjat, in monorail, was the primordial of the first compositions that would arrive in 1887. The constant derailments and the significant delays, during a course of 26 km, carried out in an hour and 55 minutes, caused Larmanjat came to history in 1877.
The Tour of the Shower – It starts shortly after the Sintra Train Station, very close to the Sintra City Hall building. The Tour of the Shower encompasses the route to the historic center of Sintra and is full of surprises: the Sapa Quebadas Factory, the entrance to the Anjos Teixeira Museum, entrance to the Parque da Liberdade, Fonte Mourisca, and you can still see several temporary exhibitions that animate the street, as well as the handicraft fairs and artists who pass by to show their work.
Mourisca Fountain – In the middle of the Volta do Duche, the famous Mourisca Fountain, built in 1922, is built by the sculptor José da Fonseca. According to the author of the work, the source was designed to “dignify the most appreciated water of Sintra”. It is a living example of the modernist architecture of the 1920s and a mandatory stop on the way to the historic center of Sintra.
Palace of Valenças – The Municipal Palace of Valences was built in the middle of the second half of the nineteenth century and is inserted in the eclectic romantic chain that proliferated in and around the Sintra mountain range throughout the century of eight hundred. The Palace of Valences or Palace of the Shower as initially was called, was constructed in the place where until about 1850 the municipal slaughterhouse of Sintra worked.
Pastry Piriquita – Piriquita is the main pillow factory, and these are often referred to as ‘Piriquita Pillows’. Anyone visiting the village of Sintra should even choose to try them out at Piriquita. Such as the Crayons of Bethlehem, the fact that they are made there and come to the table still warm makes all the difference. The sweet is made of puff pastry with a filling of almonds cream, but the taste is not worth describing, it is even necessary to taste.
Sintra National Palace – The National Palace of Sintra, located in the historic center of the village, is a unique and unavoidable monument for its historical, architectural and artistic value.
Of all the Palaces that the Portuguese monarchs had erected throughout the Middle Ages, only Sintra has survived to this day practically intact, maintaining the essence of its configuration and silhouette since the middle of the sixteenth century.
Fonte dos Pisões – The present Fonte dos Pisões was erected by the Commission of the Tourism Initiative of Sintra in 1931, and replaced the previous tank, with a chronology of at least five hundred years, with the documentary memory remaining there works of improvement already in 1651, during the visit of D. Luísa de Gusmão to Sintra.
Cascata dos Pisões – This small waterfall is very close to Quinta da Regaleira, and interrupts a line of high walls that border the road. The green of the scenery and the noise of the running water make that place unique.
Quinta da Regaleira – The romantic domains formerly belonging to the Viscondessa da Regaleira were acquired and expanded by Dr. António Augusto Carvalho Monteiro (1848-1920) to found his place of election. He was the owner of a prodigious fortune, which earned him the nickname of Monteiro dos Millões, and associated his unique architecture and landscape with the creative genius of the Italian architect and set designer Luigi Manini (1848-1936).